Thursday, January 15, 2015

REVIEW: Next to You (Where Life Takes You #2 )

Next to You

Claudia Y. Burgoa 

Publication date: July 1st 2014

Source: Paperback given by author for honest review.

240 Pages

Links : Goodreads / Amazon 

Him

…I need time. Time to heal those wings and learn to use them…

Was part of the letter Rebecca Trent, Daniel Brightmore’s fiancĂ©e and best friend left when she ran away. The person he trusted the most for the past decade disappeared without giving him a second glance. She taught him how to love, believe in family and that everyone deserves a happily ever after. Now he’s struggling between wiping any traces of her from his life and drowning his sorrows away with the help of his new best friends—Don Julio and Jack Daniels.

Her

Rebecca’s past suffocated her to the point of not wanting to continue, her lifeline and the only reason to live began to withdraw from her. She wished it had been her imagination, but heard it loud and clear: “If not, there’s always a divorce, nothing is forever.” This time it became a leave or die situation. Something has got to change—she had to change. Packing light and leaving a letter behind, she takes a journey that can help her find herself through the shards of her painful childhood.

As letters, memories and stories are exchanged, two once inseparable people reconcile what’s left of their relationship. Beyond the confines of everything they built together, they’re left with two lonely people searching for what it means to be whole. Will they find meaning under their bruised psyches or will their pasts get the better of them?


                    My Thoughts                   

Is is possible that I loved Next to You even more than I loved Where Life Takes You... the answer is YES!!!

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Top Ten 2014 Debuts I wanted to read but didn't get to



Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by


This Week's Topic is:





                             Top Ten 2014 Debuts I wanted to read but didn't get to.           

Sunday, January 11, 2015

REVIEW: Cold Shadows by J.L. Bryan



Cold Shadows ( Ghost Trappers #2 ) by J.L. Bryan 

Publication date: Nov 28th 2014

Source: Digital Version given by author for honest review.

Links : Goodreads / Amazon 



Footsteps in the attic. Toys that play by themselves. A dark presence in an upstairs room.

Paranormal investigator Ellie Jordan faces a difficult new case. Her new clients are a family haunted by multiple ghosts and a poltergeist that wrecks their home at night. Their seven-year-old son’s invisible friends may not be imaginary at all, but the restless spirits of dead children.

To clear her clients’ house of the dangerous entities, Ellie must unravel the mysterious deaths of another family who lived in the old mansion more than a hundred and sixty years ago—and she must do it before the ghosts can carry out their malevolent designs on her clients and their children.

                    My Thoughts                   


The Gang is back and better than ever! 

This series is great! It has a lot of room to grow and explore even more old and erie places and haunted houses. Cold Shadows, Part two in the Ellie Jordan Series, is even easier to read than the first novel, Ghost Trapper. Now that the main characters are established it was very easy to jump right in with Ellie and Stacey to solve this new case. Even though this is still a haunting mystery, it is so different from the previous case, and I have no doubt that every book in this series will be unique and different and definitely not predictable.

I was very glad that Jacob was still in the picture, and I do hope that he makes even more of an appearance in the up and coming novels.. perhaps, and this is just me, but I feel like there could possibly be something between Jacob and Ellie...

Putting my personal love triangle aside, This is a great new series and Cold Shadows does not dissapoint. As always, I am a huge J.L. Bryan fan and his books always make my automatic read list !

Plot : Great, each book is a different haunting to deal with. love the layout of this series. Excited to read more in the series. 

Characters: Love! J.L. Bryan easily sucks me into a series by making me love all the characters! Ellie, Stacey and Jacob make a great ghost busting team! Loved the introduction of Juniper & Crane

Cover: Like it a lot. Fits exactly with a scene in the book when she is out by the lake. I will however have to quote my husbands view on her outfit again ... " Her outfit is better for ghost trapping this time". 

You might like: TV / Movies : The Ghost Whisperer (TV) The Frighteners (Movie) , Ghostbusters (Movie)

Rating: 4



                    Author Bio                    

J.L. Bryan studied English literature at the University of Georgia and at Oxford, with a focus on the English Renaissance and the Romantic period. He also studied screenwriting at UCLA. He enjoys remixing elements of paranormal, supernatural, fantasy, horror and science fiction into new kinds of stories.
He is the author of The Paranormals series (starting with Jenny Pox), The Songs of Magic series, Nomad, and other books. He lives in Atlanta with his wife Christina, his son John, and some dogs and cats.



Website   /   Twitter 


Check out other amazing books by J.L. Bryan, and my Reviews !



Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Top Ten Resolutions for 2015



Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by


This Week's Topic is:





                             Top Ten Resolutions for 2015.           

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Top Ten Books I've read in 2014



Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by


This Week's Topic is:





                             Top Ten Books I've read in 2014          

Friday, December 12, 2014

Release Day Blitz : Love & Decay Season 3


Love & Decay 

Season 3

Rachel Higginson



Zombies- as if that wasn’t enough to ruin any girl’s dream of a happily ever after.

It’s been six months since Reagan Willow fled the Colony and Matthias Allen’s tyrannical clutches. Six months since she broke Hendrix Parker’s heart. Six months since she watched Kane Allen sacrifice his life to save hers.

Whatever was left of her already-tattered life during the Zombie Apocalypse fell apart six months ago. Now, on the cusp of crossing the Mexican border, there is hope that she might lead her friends to a better existence.

Except Zombies are only the beginning of their problems. Reagan and her friends must battle the elements, armies of Feeders and bounty hunters desperate to drag them back to the Colony to face their greatest threat.

The Colony’s power stretches wide and far. Their only hope is to outrun Matthias and get to Mexico.

This story takes place over multiple episodes, with a release date every two weeks. Approximately 20,000 words.

Check out more on Goodreads