Sunday, August 31, 2014

REVIEW: The Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry


The Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry 

Publication date: Jan 24, 2006 

Ember

Source: Bought Kindle Version

240 Pages

The Giver Quartet #2

Links : Goodreads / Amazon 


In her strongest work to date, Lois Lowry once again creates a mysterious but plausible future world. It is a society ruled by savagery and deceit that shuns and discards the weak. Left orphaned and physically flawed, young Kira faces a frightening, uncertain future. Blessed with an almost magical talent that keeps her alive, she struggles with ever broadening responsibilities in her quest for truth, discovering things that will change her life forever.

As she did in The Giver, Lowry challenges readers to imagine what our world could become, and what will be considered valuable. Every reader will be taken by Kira's plight and will long ponder her haunting world and the hope for the future.

                    My Thoughts                   


After reading The Giver and loving it I went to see the movie, which was such a powerful film!!! I was definitely riding a high from this book and was eager to continue the series. Before I started reading The Gathering Blue I learned that it did not however,  follow Jonas, nor was it based on his community that he lived in. So, I approached this story, saddened, but with the knowledge and understanding that it was to be a completely different story. 

 There were some things that I did like about The Gathering Blue, but overall I thought the story was very slow, and it took a long time for things to happen, or events to unfold in this story v.s. The Giver. 

I did like that this story took place I guess you would say in the same "world" as The Giver, but in a different community with its own set of unique rules. 

For those of you wondering if you should read The Gathering Blue to continue the series my answer is still yes, while this book is harder to get through, I can see where certain characters will play an important role in the books to come. I have already started book three in the series , The Messenger, and some of the secondary characters from The Gathering Blue are now Main characters in The Messenger. I am not far in the book right now, but I can confirm that Jonas and Gabe both make an appearance. 


Friday, August 29, 2014

Inspired Fridays: Siesta Key Sunset




Inspired Fridays is a weekley meme hosted by us @ Inkk

 We love crafting and Pinterest just as much as we love books, so why not combine the two! 

Take part in our weekly meme and add your post in the comments!


You don't have to actually craft anything to "be inspired". Show us something you maybe have done, want to try, or even a cool looking book nook or library, Whatever inspires you! Happy Weekend! 

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Stacking the Shelves ( 15 )



Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviws, where we get to show off what great books we got recently.


Unfortunately we can't stack our shelves every week but when we get some goodies in we will be sure to let you know! 

Friday, August 22, 2014

Feature & Follow (14)


Q: What Book / Series would make a better as a T.V. Show than a Movie




Inspired Friday: Kitchen Lights




Inspired Fridays is a weekley meme hosted by us @ Inkk

 We love crafting and Pinterest just as much as we love books, so why not combine the two! 

Take part in our weekly meme and add your post in the comments!


You don't have to actually craft anything to "be inspired". Show us something you maybe have done, want to try, or even a cool looking book nook or library, Whatever inspires you! Happy Weekend! 

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

REVIEW: The Fault in Our Stars by John Gree

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green 

Publication date: July 3rd 2012- Harper Collins 

Source: Bought Paperback copy & Audiobook copy 

Links : Goodreads / Amazon 



Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.


                    My Thoughts                   

Full of Feels, Definitely lived up to the hype!!!

I was traveling down to florida, a long 12 hour journey ahead of me, I found myself with a perfect opportunity to listen to my audio book of The Fault in Our Stars. I had heard so many raves about TFIOS, and that even though it was in a genre I normally don't read, I was feeling very tempted to try it out.... I AM SO GLAD I DID.  I loved it so much I didn't want my trip to end, I just wanted to continuously drive until it was done. 

I don't want to give away too much of the story because I was pleasantly surprised that the plot was still very much a surprise to me. Even though everyone talks about this book and there are endless movie trailers for TFIOS, I was very surprised that they did not give away the plot for the book. TFIOS follows Hazel, as a young girl suffering from lung cancer, and Hazel meets Augustus at a group meeting.  TFIOS follows these two as they battle cancer, friendship, and living each day like it might be your last. 

The situations that Hazel and Gus deal with, no matter how difficult, are met with humor, sarcasm and wit. They both had a way of handling their hard situations with words that was just... perfect! I personally don't have the words to describe it, but I have no doubt that Hazel and Gus would !

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Happy Release Day : Inferno Park J.L. Bryan


Inferno Park by JL Bryan

Published: August 15th 2014

Links: Goodreads  /  Amazon 




Carter was only twelve when he witnessed the disaster that killed more than a hundred people at Starland Amusement Park. Five years later, Carter’s hometown is no longer a busy Florida panhandle resort, but a slowly dying town full of empty motels and attractions rusting behind chains and padlocks.

Now something evil stirs in the ruins of the old amusement park...something with an alluring siren song drawing visitors into the dark mysteries of the forbidden world behind the gate. Something with an appetite for restless, yearning souls.

Carter reluctantly returns to the old park in the company of a new girl in town, who is obsessed with urban decay and pop-culture ruins, and discovers the evil at work. To stop it, and protect the children of the town, Carter will have to face his oldest and deepest fears.